|Banningham||TG 21 29|
|Norfolk||2½ miles north east of Aylsham to the east of the A140|
|In use - Church of England||
Contact: The Rectory, Aylsham Road, Felmingham, North Walsham, Norfolk NR28 0LD
Tel: 01692 402382
|The Church of St.
is a mixture of Decorated and Perpendicular
styles. Chancel and central part of the Nave date from the early 14th
century. Both aisles, most of the Nave windows, the square tower and the
south porch date from the 15th century. The walls are mainly of
random flint work and a notable feature is the thatched roof to the
chancel.. There is only one remaining bell – two having been sold in
1807 to pay for a restoration of the roof in 1808. From inside the tall
hammerbeam structured roof is impressive. There are remnants of
wall paintings on the north wall above the arcade, the most discernable
being of St George slaying the dragon.
The first experience on our visit was the sight of peahens and a peacock on the fence opposite the church. It was not long before the sound of the peacocks dominated the air. The road follows the northern edge of the churchyard wall so that, from the entrance gate the path leads round the eastern chancel to the porch to the main south door which had locked wire netting over – no doubt to discourage nesting peacocks. The chancel door was not locked but a local arrived to lock up as we left.
|© Copyright Peter Buttle 30 March 2002||
Updated 20 September 2004
Return to index